Skip to main content
Two women in an open area of a business office

Immigration Law Career Certificate


Federal regulations at 8 C.F.R. § 1292.1(a)(4) allow non-attorney “Accredited Representatives” to represent aliens before the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) and the Executive Office for Immigration Review (EOIR), which includes the immigration courts and the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA). These representatives are accredited through the Recognition and Accreditation (R&A) Program, which aims to increase the availability of competent immigration legal representation for low-income and indigent persons, thereby promoting the effective and efficient administration of justice. Accredited Representatives may only provide immigration legal services through Recognized Organizations. Only non-profit, federally tax-exempt entities may apply to be recognized (source:

Available fall 2021, the MCC Immigration Law Career Certificate prepares students for careers in non-governmental organizations, local and federal government agencies, private and public institutions and businesses. Between 2019 and 2029, employment of lawyers is projected to grow 4 percent from 2019 to 2029, about as fast as the average for all occupations. Demand for legal work is expected to continue as individuals, businesses, and all levels of government require legal services in many areas (BLS).

Job & Salary Outlook

Career Coach Widget

Degrees & Certificates Offered

Academic Pathway (Fall 2021)—Students may use the Immigration Law Career Certificate as a pathway to further their Business education in completion of the following Certificates and Degrees:


Find quarter class schedules


Roxana Cortés Reyes, J.D.
MCC Adjunct Faculty
2902 Edward Babe Gomez Ave | Omaha, Nebraska 68107

Additional Information

Professional Credential

MCC provides the educational background for those interested in becomming Immigration Law Accredited Representatives. Individuals interested in seeking this designation should review current information as provided by the United States Department of Justice.