COVID-19 Information

3/31/2020 9:24:04 AM

MCC has moved to e-learning and alternate delivery methods. Learn more

Aug. 18

Aug. 18, 2017





Derek Rayment

Public + Media Relations Manager



MCC awards Board of Governors scholarships at reception


OMAHA, Neb. — Metropolitan Community College’s Board of Governors awarded scholarships to outstanding high school seniors in MCC’s four-county area last night at a reception held at the Fort Omaha Campus. Students in Dodge, Douglas, Sarpy and Washington counties were selected to receive the scholarships based on academic excellence. 


Recipients displayed academic success in cumulative GPA or by high class rank. This MCC award covers tuition charges for two years (eight consecutive quarters) for up to 18 credits per quarter. 


Accelere program

Titeeanna Worthington


Bellevue East High School

Dustin Carlson, Emma Hauenstein, Christian Howell, Kasey Mallow and Kevin Ponec


Bennington High School

Mikaela Housh and Emily Jenkins


Benson High School Magnet

Matthew Tatschl


Blair High School

Sara Arens, Madison Bolton, Cody Camenzind, Kaden Lawson, Lindsay Oppliger and Bailey Quick


Boys Town High School

Felicia Lassek


Burke High School

Alexandria Heng, Eric Roman-Salgado and Brooklyn Solatka


Central High School

Cintyha Espinoza-Romero, Jordan Gulley, Amanda Halvorson and Jared Murphy


Creighton Preparatory School

Michael Flynn


Gross Catholic High School

Andrew Galardi


Douglas County West High School

Jeff Allen


Elkhorn High School

Ryan Feldman


Fremont High School

Cameran Jensen, Isabela Peralta and Jeremy Young


Gretna High School

Shelby Hawkins, Stephen Ortlieb, Haroon Rahmanzai and Kyle Rowin



Elisabeth Barton, Brandon Batchelor, Abigail Johnson, Karsten Miller, Breanne Moench, Abigail Moran, Mercy Roberts, Emma Swanson and Hannah Vogltanz


Logan View High School

Nathan Mostek


Millard West High School

Masood Rahmanzai


Omaha North High Magnet School

Travis Andrews, Dawson Brodine and Jacob Kaczmarek


Omaha South High Magnet School

Victoria Alvarado Contreras, Layla Cepeda, Victoria Cruz, Htoo Day, Kelly Enriquez, Luis Noche, Lorena Ortega, Celeste Salazar and Christian Valdovinos


Northwest High School

Joey Beverly and Seth Glover


Papillion-La Vista High School

Makayla Thompson


Papillion-La Vista South High School

Caleb Harris and Joshua Rothe


Platteview High School

Jaden Doering and Audrey Schram


Ralston High School

Rachelle Bentley, Ryan Garcia, Nick Madison and Yasmine Tchabode-Tchaagbeleou


Roncalli Catholic High School

Bryan Erixon


Westside High School

Luke Esola, Ben Fischer and Emily Newton




Metropolitan Community College, accredited by the Higher Learning Commission, is a comprehensive, public community college that offers affordable, quality education to all residents of Dodge, Douglas, Sarpy and Washington counties. Founded in 1974, MCC has the largest enrollment out of six community colleges in Nebraska and is the second largest postsecondary institution in the state. MCC serves more than 40,000 unique credit and noncredit students.