home Future Students Current Students Faculty and Staff Business and Community Online Courses
Social Sciences

Who We Are

The Social Science department includes Early Childhood Education, Education, Geography, History, Human Relations, Physical Education, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology and Social Work.

Mission Statement

The mission of the social science department is to provide quality learning experiences that lead to understanding how each of us shapes, and is shaped by, our culture and society.  Social science students will recognize and understand the obligation to engage in ethical, responsible, and legal behaviors. This is accomplished primarily through courses of study dedicated to teaching:

  • The influence of history, geography, political science, psychology, and sociology on individuals and society
  • The ability to distinguish opinion from facts
  • The ability to recognize social biases
  • The definition and necessity of social responsibility
  • The value of diversity 
  • The development of social awareness

Our Programs

Transfer Degrees Options

  • Liberal Arts/Academic Transfer (LATAA)
  • Liberal Arts Academic Transfer Associate Science (LATAS)
  • General Studies (GSAAS)
  • Associate in Applied Science Degree - Early Childhood Educator (ECAS1)
  • Certificate of Achievement - Early Childhood Educator - Assistant (ECTC1)

Career Certificates:

Early Childhood Generalist (ECGSD)

Early Childhood Spanish (ECSSD)

Early Childhood Sign Language (ECSLD)

Early Childhood Group Home Specialist (ECGHD)


Course Descriptions

Department Contacts

Dean: Jane Franklin

Associate: Connie Galvin
Fax: 402-738-4040


Social Sciences Faculty

Victoria Alapo
Kojo Allen
Lynn Bradman
Stewart Brewer
Mary Burbach-Cooper
Julio Caycedo
Jennifer Cohen
Nancy Conrad
Carrie Dyer
Jenni Fauchier
Bonnie Fizgerald
Amy Forss
Tulani Grundy Meadows
Kathy Halverson-Rigatuso
Jessica Kunz
Cornelius McGreevy
Carol Moore
Ryan Newton
Laura Nottingham
Joe Ociepka
Deanna Peterson
Jill Ramet
Edie Sample
Joy Schultz
Dennis Smith
Michelle Todd
Gary Toth
Jim Van Arsdall
Jennifer Vaughn

Contact Us